In Recognition

Graduate students Evan Jaffe and Kodi Weatherholtz were awarded summer fellowships in the amount of $4,800 from Ohio State’s Center for Cognitive and Brain Sciences (CCBS). Jaffe’s project, A Novel Word Space Model for Measuring Semantic Similarity’ was sponsored by faculty members William Schuler, Eric Fosler-Lussier and Mike White. Weatherholtz’s project, ’The Bounds of Flexibility in Spoken Word Recognition: Cross-talker and Cross-system Generalization of Perceptual Learning for Speech,' was sponsored by Cynthia Clopper and Mark Pitt.

Undergraduate Peter Markley was awarded a SoLV undergraduate research award from the Buckeye Language Network (BLN).  The award includes $1250 to conduct research with Kathryn Campbell-Kibler.  Peter will present this work at next year's BLN symposium.

Congratulations to undergraduate Adam Royer, who won 3rd place in his category at the Denman Undergraduate Research Forum for his poster, "Effects of Regional Dialect on Word-Final Consonant Voicing." Adam's research advisor was Cynthia Clopper.

Brian Joseph, along with Dorry Noyes (Center for Folklore Studies,) has been awarded $8,000 by the Provost’s Oversight Committee through the Mershon Center for International Security Studies. The award is for a conference project,“Sustainable Pluralism: Linguistic and Cultural Resilience in Multiethnic Societies.”

Carrissa Baron accepts her awardUndergraduates Haley Koman and Carrissa Barron have each been awarded a Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship to study in South Korea.  The Wolfe Scholarships are administered by the Office of International Affairs, and provide $2,500 for selected Ohio State students who are Ohio residents, graduated from an Ohio high school, are admitted to an OSU study abroad program and meet class standing and GPA requirements.  Koman will attend the Soonchunhyang International Exchange Program in the coming academic year, and Barron will attend the Yonsei International Exchange Program this summer. Haley Koman accepts her award

Congratulations to honors linguistics graduating senior Emily Clem, who was admitted with funding to all five graduate programs to which she applied, and has chosen to attend the University of California at Berkeley next year.

Graduate student Rory Turnbull was awarded a Presidential Fellowship in support of his dissertation research, titled "Assessing the listener-oriented account of predictability-based phonetic reduction." The Presidential Fellowship is the most prestigious award given by the Graduate School, and provides a year's support in recognition of the outstanding scholarly accomplishments and potential of the student.

Graduate student Rachel Burdin was awarded the Samuel M. Melton Graduate Fellowship in Jewish Studies for this academic year. The award provides $15,600 over twelve months, plus a $600 travel stipend.

Cindy Johnson and Katie Carmichael accept their awardsGraduate students Cynthia Johnson and Katie Carmichael were awarded Graduate Teaching Awards by the department.

Adam Royer was awarded a $500.00 Undergraduate Research Small Grant from the division of Arts and Humanities in the College of Arts and Sciences to partially defray costs of travel to Dublin, Ireland, for the 7th Conference on Speech Prosody.  He is co-author with Rory Turnbull, Kiwako Ito and our chair, Shari Speer, of the paper, "Prominence perception in and out of context.”

Graduate student Pat Reidy is the 2014 recipient of the Raymond H. Stetson Scholarship in Phonetics and Speech Science from the Acoustical Society of America. The $20,000 scholarship honors the memory of Professor Raymond H. Stetson, a pioneer investigator in phonetics and speech science. Its purpose is to facilitate the research efforts of promising graduate students, and it will support Pat's dissertation work.

Reidy also was  awarded a Ray Travel Grant of $750 to help defray the cost of conference travel to Tokyo for LabPhon14.  

Graduate students Rachel Burdin and Jane Mitsch each received a Ray Travel Award of $750 to help defray the cost of conference travel.  Mitsch traveled to Finland for the Association of Borderland Studies World Conference in Joensuu (also St. Petersburg, Russia), and the Sociolinguistics Symposium in Jyväskylä.  Burdin went to Paris for the European Association for Jewish Studies Congress in July.

Graduate student Rachel Klippenstein has accepted a position as contributing editor for Logos Research Systems, Inc., of Bellingham, Washington.

Congratulations to our summer 2014 PhD recipients, Jon Dehdari and Deborah Morton! Jon's dissertation is titled A neurophysiologically-inspired statistical language model (advisor, William Schuler) and Deborah's is titled The Temporal and Aspectual Semantics and Verbal Tonology of Gɩsɩda Anii (advisor, Judith Tonhauser).

Jon Dehdari has accepted a position as a researcher in machine translation at DFKI (German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence) in Saarbruecken Germany. In addition to research he'll also be teaching and advising at the University of Saarland.

Faculty member Peter Culicover has been invited for an Erskine Visiting Fellowship at the University of Canterbury, NZ (for the winter - April 24 through June 6). In addition to lecturing, he will be conducting research on constructional approaches to syntactic theory.

Faculty member Micha Elsner, along with Naomi Feldman (University of Maryland) was awarded an NSF grant for the 3-year project, "Cognitive models of the acquisition of vowels in context."

Professor Craige Roberts has been awarded a position as senior fellow at the Institute for Advanced Studies at Central European University in Budapest, from October, 2014 through the end of June, 2015.  Craige's focus during the fellowship will be on completing her book on Reference in Context for Oxford University Press.