Brian D. Joseph elected Vice President/President-Elect for the LSA

We congratulate Dr. Brian D. Joseph, Distinguished University Professor of Linguistics and The Kenneth E. Naylor Professor of South Slavic Linguistics, who has been elected to the position of Vice President/President-Elect for the Linguistic Society of America (LSA).  Professor Joseph will serve as Vice President for the LSA in 2018 and will then assume the presidency in January 2019, to serve a one-year term. He will be the 95th president of the LSA.  The LSA is the largest professional organization in the world for Linguistics, with over 4000 members world-wide.  It was founded in 1924, with faculty from Ohio State figuring prominently in its formation.  Three LSA presidents prior to Professor Joseph have been from Ohio State:  George Melville Bolling (1932), Ilse Lehiste (1980), and Arnold M. Zwicky (1992).