Timeline bar

Charles J Fillmore and William S-Y Yang begin at Ohio State

Founding of the Division of Linguistics, with Bill Wang serving as chair

Terrence S Kaufman begins.


The PhD Program in Linguistics is established; Mantaro Hashimoto and Anne Yue-Hashimoto are the first graduates that year. Ilse Lehiste and Cathy Callaghan begin. 

Department of Linguistics established, June 19th. Ilse Lehiste is the first Chair. First volume of OSU Working Papers in Linguistics is published.


Arnold Zwicky begins at Ohio State.

Move from University Hall to Cunz Hall (due to an anechoic chamber warping the building and causing it to be condemned)

Mike Geis begins.

David Dowty begins.







Brian Joseph and Robert Fox begin at Ohio State. The first edition of Language Files is published (Geoghegan, Latta, Perkins & D. Schaffer, eds)






Mary Beckman and Dave Odden begin at Ohio State

First Conference on Laboratory Phonology, held at Ohio State

Peter Culicover begins; Ilse Lehiste retires. Linguistics is awarded the Academic Challenge Award.
Bob Levine, Craige Roberts and Don Winford begin.

Carl Pollard begins

Language Files 5 is published (Crabtree and Powers, eds.). Linguistics moves from Cunz to Oxley.

Beth Hume begins. 

Ohio State hosts the LSA Summer Institute. Keith Johnson begins as a faculty member.
Robert Kasper begins.

Sam Rosenthall begins.






Chris Brew and Shari Speer begin at Ohio State.

100th Linguistics PhD at Ohio State is filed! Detmar Meurers begins. Linguistics is awarded the Departmental Teaching Excellence Award.



Mike White begins. Linguistics awarded a Targeted Investment in Excellence Award.
Cynthia Clopper and Judith Tonhauser begin.

Kathryn Campbell Kibler begins.




William Schuler begins.

Micha Elsner and Marie-Catherine de Marneffe begin.

Becca Morley begins.


The department moves from Oxley to offices in the Ohio Stadium (to return in 2017!)