March 23, 2022

Graduate student Sara Court has been awarded a Foreign Language and Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowship for summer 2022 to study Quechua. Congratulations, Sara!

March 22, 2022

Clint Awai-Jennings has been awarded a Graduate Associate Teaching Award (GATA) from the Graduate School. The GATA is the highest recognition awarded to graduate teaching associates at Ohio State…

December 13, 2021

Linguistics undergraduates Rebekah Stanhope (right)  and Kenna Miller (left) have each been awarded an Undergraduate Research Scholarship from the Arts and Sciences Honors Committee for their…

November 29, 2021

Professor Brian Joseph has been elected Honorary Member of the Academy of Sciences of Albania! Congratulations, Brian!

August 24, 2021

Professor Beth Hume has been elected Fellow of the Linguistic Society of America. She will be inducted in a ceremony at the LSA annual meeting in January. Congratulations, Beth!

July 14, 2021

Professor Brian Joseph has been elected a foreign member of the Academia Europaea. Congratulations, Brian!

July 2, 2021

Graduate student Ash Lewis is a member of a team of OSU graduate students selected to participate in the first Alexa Prize TaskBot Challenge ( The OSU team is one of…

June 8, 2021

Professors Brian Joseph, Marie-Catherine de Marneffe, and Micha Elsner, together with colleagues Christopher Brown and Anthony Kaldellis from Classics, have been awarded an Arts & Humanities…

June 7, 2021

Recent PhD alumnus Lifeng Jin received the NAACL Best Paper Award for his work on Video-aided Unsupervised Grammar Induction with Songyang Zhang, Linfeng Song, Kun Xu, Dong Yu, and Jiebo Luo. …