May 9, 2019

Assistant Professor Björn Köhnlein has been awarded an NSF CAREER grant for his work on mechanisms of sound change in continental West Germanic. Congratulations, Björn!

April 30, 2019

Professor Brian Joseph has been elected to the American Philosophical Society. The APS is the oldest learned society in the US, founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1743. Brian will join a small number…

April 8, 2019

Graduate student Nandi Sims has been awarded a Migration, Mobility, and Immobility Project Graduate Grant for her research on social group affiliation and language variation in a multi-ethnic…

April 3, 2019

Alumna Salena Anderson (Sampson) has received the 2019-2020 Valparaiso University Excellence in Teaching Award. Congratulations, Salena!

March 1, 2019

Stephanie Antetomaso has been awarded an academic year 2019-2020 FLAS Fellowship to study Ecuadorian Kichwa at Ohio State. Congratulations, Stephanie!

March 1, 2019

Associate Professor Micha Elsner has been awarded a Google Research Award for his work on cognitively inspired deep Bayesian neural networks for unsupervised speech recognition. Congratulations,…

March 1, 2019

Noah Diewald has been awarded a summer 2019 FLAS Fellowship to study Wao Tededo with the Andes & Amazon Field School in Ecuador and an academic year 2019-2020 FLAS Fellowship to study…

January 7, 2019

Brian Joseph assumed the presidency of the Linguistic Society of America on January 6. The Linguistic Society of America is the largest professional organization for linguists, with over 3500…

October 17, 2018

Alumna Emily Clem was awarded third place in the LSA 2019 Annual Meeting Student Abstract Award competition for her abstract entitled, "The cyclic nature of Agree: Maximal projections as probes…