Cynthia Clopper and Laura Wagner awarded grant

December 13, 2013
Oxley Hall

Congratulations to Cynthia Clopper and Laura Wagner, who have been awarded a grant from OSU's Center for Cognitive and Brain Sciences for their proposal, "A Large-Scale Cross-Sectional Investigation of Dialect Acquisition" in the amount of $120,000 ($60k per year for 2 years).

Andy Plummer accepts post-doc

December 13, 2013
Andy Plummer

Congratulations are due to Andy Plummer, who has taken a post-doctoral position on a project with Professor Eric Fosler-Lussier of Computer Science and Engineering.  Andy provided me this brief description of the project:

Mary Beckman wins Anneliese Maier Research Award

December 12, 2013
Mary Beckman

Congratulations to Mary Beckman, who has won the Anneliese Maier Research Award from the Alexander von Humbolt Foundation.  Award winners are those whose scientific achievements have been internationally recognized.

Jefferson Barlew wins Graduate Research Small Grant

December 12, 2013
Jefferson Barlew

Congratulations are due to Jefferson Barlew, who has been awarded a 2013-2014 Arts & Humanities Graduate Research Small Grant to defray costs associated with continuing his research on the Bulu Reference project.

Terrific news, Jefferson.

Professors Roberts and Tonhauser win LSA's Best Paper in Language Award

December 5, 2013
Oxley Hall

Congratulations are due to Professors Craige Roberts and Judith Tonhauser (with David Beaver and Mandy Simons) whose paper, "Toward a taxonomy of projective content" (Language 89.1, 2013), has been selected to receive the Linguistic Society of America's Best Paper in Language Award.