Our faculty and alumni at the 2015 Linguistic Summer Institute

April 7, 2014
Oxley Hall

We are excited to show the substantial representation of our faculty and alumni among those invited and selected to offer courses at the prestigious biennial 2015 Linguistic Summer Institute, a premier gathering of linguists from around the world to be held at the University of Chicago.

Kodi Weatherholtz awarded summer fellowship

April 4, 2014
Picture of Kodi Weatherholtz

Congratulations to Kodi Weatherholtz, who has been awarded a summer fellowship from the Center for Cognitive and Brain Sciences (CCBS) in the amount of $4,800.  His project is titled 'The Bounds of Flexibility in Spoken Word Recognition: Cross-talker and Cross-system Generalization of Percep

Peter Markley wins SoLV award

March 31, 2014
Oxley Hall

Congratulations to Peter Markley, who has been awarded a SoLV undergraduate research award from the Buckeye Language Network (BLN).  The award includes $1250 to conduct research with Kathryn Campbell-Kibler.  Peter will present this work at next year's BLN symposium.  Great news, P

Adam Royer wins 3rd place at Denman

March 31, 2014
Adam Royer at the Denman

Congratulations to Adam Royer, who has won 3rd place in his category at the Denman Undergraduate Research Forum for his poster, "Effects of Regional Dialect on Word-Final Consonant Voicing." Adam's research advisor is Cynthia Clopper.

Excellent news, Adam.

Evan Jaffe wins Center for Cognitive and Brain Sciences fellowship

March 31, 2014
Evan Jaffe

Congratulations to Evan Jaffe, whose project, 'A Novel Word Space Model for Measuring Semantic Similarity' has been awarded a summer fellowship in the amount of $4,800 from OSU's Center for Cognitive and Brain Sciences (CCBS).  Faculty sponsors for the project include William Schuler, Eric F

Rachel Burdin Wins a Melton Center Travel Grant

March 19, 2014
Photo of Rachel Burdin.

Congratulations to Rachel Burdin, who has won a Melton Center Travel Grant to help defray the costs of her trip to Paris for the 10th Congress of the European Association for Jewish Studies (EAJS).